"Chakras" Explained

                                                                                            ~~**~~ What Are Chakras?  ~~**~~

“Chakra” is a term that comes from the ancient Sanskrit language, literally translating to English as “wheel.” And when you look at artistic renderings of the chakras, you can probably understand why. Running vertically through the centre of the human body from the base of the spine to the top of the head, the chakras are energy centres that are whirling, spinning, and driving the physical and spiritual experience forward.

There are 7 major Chakras running from the base of the spine to the crown of the head, each chakra is responsible for distributing energy to different organs, muscles, and nerves. Our bodies are made up of an electromagnetic energy sometimes referred to as the AURA. The flow of this energy affects our health and well-being. The chakras are responsible for directing and distributing this energy through our body.   Through our Chakras, we receive and transmit physical, emotional, and spiritual energy.

Each chakra is associated with an area of the body and a colour of the spectrum. Each Chakra is said to spin at a different frequency. When each Chakra spins at its perfect frequency the body radiates perfect health; emotions are centred and balanced and we enjoy a sense of peace.  Chakras can be manipulated to keep the body healthy and emotions centred by using meditation, colours, and crystals. Stones are used at chakra centres for clearing, revitalizing, and healing. Generally, the selection of stones for healing corresponds with the associated colour of the chakra.  Through our chakras, we receive and transmit physical, emotional, and spiritual energy. We can bring fresh energy into our body through the chakras that can nourish our organs and glands.

Stones are used at chakra centres for clearing, revitalizing, and healing. Generally, the selection of stones corresponds with the associated colour of the chakra.                                                          

General stone uses:
Activation ~ Stimulation:  Rose Quartz, Amethyst
Alignment ~ Balancing:  Sodalite, Calcite, 
General ~ Stimulating: Black Tourmaline, Carnelian, Lapis Lazuli.


Just as the universe and everything in it are composed of and filled to the brim with energy, the human body is no different. These precious energy centres are a way to harness and utilize this life force. Prana – what this life energy is often called – is continually churning and spinning through your body within these seven centres. When properly aligned and balanced, this prana provides and sustains all aspects of existence for mind, body, and spirit.                                                           

The more you know about your seven chakras, the more you can tend to your health and well-being and ensure that these energy centres are flowing freely and in balance. There are many practices that you can seek out or introduce in your daily life to promote chakra healing and in turn promote wellbeing in every aspect of your life.

In holistic health and spiritual communities, the word “chakra” frequently graces conversation and while some individuals within these circles may have a comprehensive understanding of what the chakras are and how best to empower them, the majority of people have little to no understanding of the power the chakras possess.

While there isn’t much Western scientific evidence that translates spiritual energy into physical type, the study of the seven chakras and chakra alignment, whether it be through meditation, reiki, or yoga, is rooted in the belief is that when the chakras are open and aligned, our energy is constantly free-flowing, allowing prana to flow through them.  But before you can dive deep into each chakra, you need to know the basics.


And finally . . .

Meditation gives our mind the rest it needs. Having energy flowing freely from the body through the chakra gives us a well-balanced life, physical vitality and helps us to distribute these energies through the body. Chakra balance supports and promotes good health and a sense of wellbeing. The goal is to have all chakra centres clear, balanced, and vitalized for peak health and well-being. True healing is a partnership between the person and the crystals. Letting go of the barriers allows the power to flow in and out.

If you think that chakras are just a part of “all things voodoo”  today, think again: The chakra system originated in India between 1500 and 500 BC in the oldest text called the Vedas. The Vedas are the earliest Sanskrit literary records and the most ancient scriptures of Hinduism. As for the purpose of the seven chakras? They each correspond to specific organs as well as physical, emotional, psychological, emotional, and spiritual states of being and influence all areas of your life. Within these chakras is ‘prana,’ or the ultimate pure healing energy, that’s all around us and within us, to keep us healthy, happy, and vibrant.